empowering people to become self-reliant


Board Chair – Adam Neiberg

Adam Neiberg has been on the Board of Directors at ESR for the past two years and serves on numerous committees.  He is a full time employee at BB&T, where he has been for 16 years serving in various positions.  He is originally from Wheeling, West Virginia, but he has lived in the Winston-Salem area for the last 18 years. He is a graduate of Tulane University with a degree in Finance and has an International MBA degree in Marketing from the University of South Carolina. He is active in coaching his son’s sports teams and at Knollwood Baptist Church.  When he is not working or volunteering he enjoys playing soccer and running.

Adam is married to Rebecca Neiberg, employed by Wake Forest Baptist Health, and is the proud father of Aaron and Evan.


Vice Board Chair – Rebecca Bender

Rebecca Bender has been on the Board of Directors at ESR for the past 3 years serving in various capacities, including Treasurer. She recently began a career in real estate after retiring from Hanesbrands after almost 20 years. While at Hanesbrands, she held positions in Finance most recently as Senior Manager of Financial Planning for the Champion brand. Rebecca is a life-long resident of Winston-Salem and has served on committees for United Way of Forsyth County, The Arts Council, and the Olio. Rebecca received her degree in Accounting from Salem College and is a CPA licensed in North Carolina. She is an avid runner and triathlete. She and her husband Kevin (Executive Director of MBA program at Wake Forest) enjoy the beach, traveling, and spoiling their grandchildren.


2018-2019 Board Members

From left to right:

First row: David Rose, Naomi Blackmon, Eva Gray-Allen, Minnie Ervin, Pastor Gloria Samuels, Rebecca Bender, Adam Neiberg, Chester David, Tonya Bellanger, Amatullah Saleem, Phillip Carter, Robert Hinshaw
Back row: Diane Fitzhugh, Brian Burley, Jose Perez, Marsha Davis
Not pictured: Michael W. Robinson, Katie Lefelar, LaShun Huntley

Executive Board

From left to right:

Chester David (Program Committee Chair), Tonya Bellanger (Treasurer), Adam Neiberg (Board Chair), Amatullah Saleem (Assistant Secretary), Rebecca Bender (Vice Board Chair), Pastor Gloria Samuels (Secretary)